Rendered 3D Ships

Here are a few prototype ships for the game. I tried to keep everything quads (for unwrapping and zbrush sculpting mainly), and each object as few separate elements as possible. The poly flow is a bit awkward in places, so they may need to be scrapped completely in future. Each ship is between 300 and 700 polys – obviously future iterations might be higher detail, but I’m thinking it might be possible to optimise this game for mobile devices – assuming I finish it before phones come with graphics cards.

I’m not sure on the limitations of the engine because I still haven’t decided on an engine. I’m looking strongly into Ogre 3D, because it’s free and open source, and shouldn’t take too long to get to grips with the workings of the useful features (unlike something like Unity I presume).

Render done in 3DS Max/ Mental Ray, with generic ceramic material from autodesk. The distances between ships aren’t equal, so shadows look a bit weird. I think the ships should be roughly around this relative scale. The bottom row is just the ships above, rotated 180 degrees around vertical axis so as to get a good view.

Image

Tags: , ,

About reecpj2

I created this blog to motivate myself and chart my process in the production of a video game I am making over the summer. I also want to share ideas and feedback with anyone interested in the process! I'm not really a programmer; I starting learning C++ a couple of months ago. I did a C++ and OpenGL halftone program for a uni project, which, despite plenty of bugs, has given me the confidence to try and make a 3D game without a studio or masses of time. It remains to be seen whether this is total folly. I'm 20, male and studying Computer Visualisation and Animation at Bournemouth University, UK. I have always been interested in making games but haven't done anything about it since I was about 14 and making terrible flash games. I recently got an inkling as to how complicated games are when modding Skyrim to change the mesh of one hat. This is about the first time I've committed to sharing any work I've done online or started a blog/ personal website.

Leave a Reply

